Dreamweaver Extensions
 

Neonix Site Tools Pro

<< Back

Tips & Examples

Following are some scenarios where Neonix Site Tools Pro can be used....

Scenario 1: During the course of development, Dreamweaver and WS FTP can leave behind unnecessary files which may or may not normally be removed by those applications. Specifically, those files would be LOG, TMP or LCK files (and even *LCK.LCK files - lock files of lock files!). Neonix Site Tools Pro can be used to delete all of them from your site - or if you prefer, on a directory by directory basis.

Scenario 2: Sometimes during the course of managing a site it can be useful to make certain files writable, such as LCK, HTM or HTML files - Neonix Site Tools Pro can be used to accomplish this as well.

Scenario 3: When attempting to delete a directory Dreamweaver may throw an error about the selected directory not being empty and will not delete the directory even though Dreamweaver shows it to be empty. Cause: hidden files, usually LCK or LCK.LCK files. Solution: Use Neonix Site Tools Pro to look for hidden LCK files in the 'empty' folder and delete them. Return to dreamweaver and then delete the directory.

Scenario 4: The user needs to check out a site so that a subset of files can be worked on. It would make more sense to check out only those files that are needed instead of the entire site but the number of files is such that checking out the entire site is easier - Use Neonix Site Tools Pro to selectively check out files, and then check them back in when done. This feature alone can save a LOT of time.

Scenario 5: A user who is not part of the team of developers is using Dreamweaver to edit content. The user is not able to check files back into the production environment. The cause is that for some reason the production files are read-only. Solution: use Neonix Site Tools Pro to make the files writeable - a single file or files that meet your search criteria across multiple directories.

Scenario 6: Again a user who is not part of the development team (or maybe they are a developer....) has checked out a series of files only to find that they need to selectively revert back to the version of the files that exist on the web server. Solution: use Neonix Site Tools Pro to "undo checkout" on a single file or a group of files that meet your search criteria across multiple directories.

 

 

© 2001-2004 Neonix.net, LLC. All rights reserved

Privacy Statement // Terms/Conditions/License